About ICTA

Since its formation in 1971 the International Cinema Technology Association has morphed into the most important international association dedicated to equipment and new technologies throughout the global theatrical market. The ICTA is a trade organization that represents companies involved in cinema technology, including leading cinema equipment manufacturers, dealers and service companies from around the world. Our members are responsible for producing all the equipment that is used in presenting features on the Silver Screen in movie theatres in all corners of the world. They manufacture digital cinema systems, lenses, sound equipment, seating, 3D technology and more.
The ICTA is also a leader in the educational seminar process, holding several seminars a year to present new and informative information on changing technologies and how to achieve the very best motion picture experience. The ICTA network is also a wonderful source for the exchange of ideas and constructive suggestions concerning improvement of manufacturing and technical standards for products used in the theatre industry.


What ICTA Does

The Association enjoys a close working relationship with other industry organizations including NATO, MPAA, SMPTE, and NAC, and is a founding member of the Inter-Society Committee for the Enhancement of the Motion Picture Presentation. Key among our efforts is partnering with four major trade events – CinemaCon, ShowEast, CineEurope and CineAsia – to update exhibitors worldwide on what our member companies have to offer. We also hold ongoing educational programs in the U.S., Europe and Asia that focus on the latest theatre equipment and technologies.

Benefits of ICTA Membership

The ICTA affords you and your peers unique opportunities to network, form business alliances, and learn first-hand about the latest technological advances.

Other benefits include:

Discounts at ICTA Seminar Series in Los Angeles and Europe

Increased visibility and credibility for your company by displaying the ICTA logo on your letterhead, business cards, ads, and trade show booths

Discounts on trade show booth space and registrations at CinemaCon and ShowEast

Invitation to the Annual ICTA Business Convention

History of the ICTA

The Theatre Equipment Association was formed in 1971 when members of the Theatre Equipment and Supply Manufacturers Association united with the Theatre Equipment Dealers Association to form one group representing the interests of manufacturers and dealers.

It was a novel approach to join forces into a single, permanent organization for the sole purpose of fostering and maintaining professional, business and social relationships among its members within all segments of the motion picture industry.

Looking to expand and broaden its membership base the TEA became the International Theatre Equipment Association to bring in members from all over the globe. Today the ICTA represents businesses in more than 31 countries.

As technology changed in the motion picture industry, the ICTA wanted its name to reflect the true nature and character of its members and soon became the International Cinema Technology Association. Today there are more than 180 members representing manufacturers and cinema-related businesses across the country and around the world.

Bylaws of ICTA member

Download the official By-laws of the ICTA – Nebraska Non-profit corporation. You will need acrobat reader to view the document, you can download the free software via this link.

Click here to download the pdf.